Comments are off for this post

IAC participated in civil consultations for GECOM Chairman

The Indian Action Committee (IAC) visited Parliament Building on Thursday, December 1, 2016 to participate in consultations with other civil society organizations in the process of nomination of six (6) individuals to be submitted by the Leader of the Opposition Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo to President David Granger for selection as the new Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

The IAC nominated six persons as being eminently suitable for the position of Chairman of GECOM: (1) Mr.  Sanjeev Datadin , attorney-at-law;  Mr. Vidyartha Kissoon, 1990 Guyana Scholar and Social Activist; (3) Ms. Sonita Jagan, former CEO of GTT; (4) Madame Justice Carolita Luckhoo- Bethel, Judge of the Supreme Court of the Bahamas; (5) Mr. Justice Darshan Ramdhani, Judge of the Supreme Court of Grenada; and (6) The Honourable Mr. Arudhranauth Gossai, Attorney General of St. Kitts and Nevis.

The IAC is eagerly awaiting the final selection of the six (6) persons whose names will be presented to President David Granger by the Honourable Leader of the Opposition, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo.

The IAC understands that this constitutes a very arduous task, but the organization has full confidence that the examination of the several hundred nominated names by the civil society organizations will be efficiently scrutinized, analyzed and finalized by Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo.


Comments are closed.